Retention Policy on Calendar Items in Exchange 2010


As we all know by now, you can no longer use Retention Policy and Retention Tags on Calendar items in Exchange 2010.  So, how would you clean up user’s old Calendar items? Managed Folder saves the day!

Here are the powershell commands to create ManagedFolder and policy:

New-ManagedFolder -Name ‘DefaultCalendar’ -DefaultFolderType Calendar -MustDisplayComment $false

New-ManagedContentSettings -FolderName DefaultCalendar -MessageClass IPM.Appointment -Name DefaultCalendarContentSettings -RetentionEnabled $true -RetentionAction MoveToDeletedItems -AgeLimitForRetention “1”

New-ManagedFolderMailboxPolicy -Name “DefaultCalendarPolicy” -ManagedFolderLinks DefaultCalendar

Set-mailbox -identity johndoe -ManagedFolderMailboxPolicy “DefaultCalendarPolicy”

Start-ManagedFolderAssistant -Identity Johndoe

The most important part is IPM.Appointment. I’ve tried other suggestions from technet such as “Calendar”, but this is the only one that works. 

Note, -AgeLimitForRetention “1” means one day. So the policy should move any Calendar items older than 1 day from your Calendar to Deleted Items folder.

6 thoughts on “Retention Policy on Calendar Items in Exchange 2010

  1. It appears that if I set a managed folder policy on a mailbox it will unassign the retention policy I had set on the mailbox and if I reassign the retention policy it will clear the managed folder policy. Has anyone been able to apply both a retention policy and a managed folder policy to the same mailbox?

  2. I originally assigned a retention policy to a mailbox and the emails were tagged with the correct retention policy. Then I created a managed folder policy and assigned it to the mailbox. When I run the get-mailbox command it shows the ManagedFolderMailboxPolcy with the policy name and the RetentionPolicy is blank. Existing messages are still tagged with the original Retention Policy. New emails are not tagged. I am still able to Assign Retention policies. This makes me think that it is using both even though the mailbox does not show a RetentionPolicy. I’m still testing but thought I would add this to the discussion.

Leave a comment