Configure Split DNS for a specific Host


 

Say I have domain.com and its hosted externally.
I add an exchange server and, I add an external record pointing to my server called mail.domain.com and it points to my external IP.
I ALSO want to be able to access my server using the internal IP instead of going through my firewall and back in. (This is called split DNS)

Split DNS = I have 2 DNS zones, one external and one internal for the same domain.
The issue is that you have to manage both zones individually (even if you only need one specific host record)

And alternative method is to create a zone JUST for that one host name.

Here are the directions to create a domain and same as parent A record

  1. Open DNS on your DC, right click Forward Lookup Zone, and select  New Zone
  2. image
  3. image
  4. image
  5. image
  6. image
  7. image
  8. image
  9. image
  10. image
  11. image

Now you have split DNS for the single host name only.

2 thoughts on “Configure Split DNS for a specific Host

  1. Pingback: Troubleshooting Issues with Client Access Servers | A bit of Exchange & Office 365

Leave a comment